Battery Safety Science Symposium August 11, 2021

Advancing safer energy storage through science

Electrochemical Safety Research Institute Underwriters Laboratories Inc.

UNDERWRITERS LABORATORIES®

© 2021 Underwriters Laboratories Inc. All rights reserved. UL and the UL logo are trademarks of UL LLC.



Electrochemical Safety Research Institute – Programs & Initiatives



Battery Safety Council Meetings

Exchange of technical information on battery safety.

- The **Battery Safety Council** (BSC) is an *ad hoc* group organized by a group of government and industry staff dedicated to the exchange of technical information on battery safety.
- BSC meetings were initiated in 2015.
- Outcome of the Boeing 787 investigation NASA/UL/NTSB were all part of the investigation and provided support through a Non-Advocate Review board, public hearings and testing.
- Held 9 BSC forums.
- 2021 BSC meeting in Q4 (virtual or in-person).



BSC November 2019 Forum



Battery Safety Summits

Industry focused summit on battery safety.

- Another outcome of the Boeing 787 investigation.
- First Summit was held in the U.S. (DC area).
- The following summits were held in China (2015), India (2016), Canada (2016), Korea (2017), Japan (2018).
- In 2019, the Summit was held in Singapore and this was changed to address "Aviation" with a major focus on battery safety.
- In 2019, a Energy Storage Summit was held in India to address EV and ESS sectors.
- The Summits cover a range of topics that are relevant to the country that it is held in. For instance, it covered areas from cell manufacturing to disposal and recycling in countries like China, Korea and Japan. Whereas in India, it focused on battery safety specifically in the Automotive and Stationary Grid Storage sectors.







Research Collaborations

Fundamental studies to understand safety issues and hazards in batteries.



	Collaborator	Research Projects
	Purdue University	Fast charge safety for Li-ion batteriesLithium-ion internal short safety study
	Case Western Reserve University	 Fire and smoke characterization of Li-ion cells with modeling studies Lithium-ion safe electrolyte project
	UC San Diego	 Research collaborator and member of the Innovative Materials Discovery and Design Institute (IMDD) – Recycling and lithium-metal research studies
	NASA Johnson Space Center	 Project on mitigation of thermal runaway using different materials Destructive analysis and elemental and material analysis (components of a cell) Safety of micro-USB Li-ion batteries
	Stress Engineering Services	 Continue Thermal Runaway Propagation on Li-ion cell packages (for G27 and UN IWG) Flow battery safety research



UL Inc. Fire Research Team

Callabauat

• Fire research in Li-ion Batteries

Decearch Draiget





Dr. Fredrik Larsson & Dr. Bengt-Erik Mellander Chalmers University of Technology



Dr. Shirley Meng UCSD



Dr. Daniel Abraham Argonne National Lab



Laurie Florence UL Inc.



Robert Swaim Principal, HowltBroke.com



Dr. Palani Balaya N.U. Singapore





Dr. Linda Gaines Argonne National Laboratory





Dr. Steve Kerber & Dr. Mark McKinnon Underwriters Laboratories Inc., FSRI





Dr. Pierre L'Eplattenier & Iñaki Çaldichoury ANSYS

Battery Safety Science Symposium - Agenda

SESSION	SESSION TITLE	TIME (CDT)	NAME	AFFILIATION	DESIGNATION
Opening	Remarks	08:30 a.m. – 08:40 a.m.	Dr. Christopher Cramer	Underwriters Laboratories Inc.	Senior Vice President and Chief Research Officer
	Introduction to the Symposium	08:40 a.m. – 08:50 a.m.	Dr. Judy Jeevarajan	Underwriters Laboratories Inc.	Research Director - Electrochemical Safety
I	Recent Advances: Safety Perspective	08:50 a.m. – 09:15 a.m.	Dr. Joshua Lamb	Sandia National Laboratories	Principal Member of the Technical Staff, Advanced Power Sources R&D
		09:15 a.m. – 09:40 a.m.	Dr. Rachel Carter	US Naval Research Laboratory	Mechanical Engineer, Alternative Energy Section
		09:40 a.m. – 10:05 a.m.	Dr. Sagar Mitra	Indian Institute of Technology Bombay	Professor, Energy Science and Engineering Department
		10:05 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.	Dr. Partha P. Mukherjee	Purdue University	Professor & University Faculty Scholar School of Mechanical Engineering
II	Novel Electrode Materials: The Future	10:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.	Dr. Arumugam Manthiram	The University of Texas at Austin	Professor, McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering
		11:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.	Dr. Sarbajit Banerjee	Texas A&M University	Professor, Department of Materials Science & Engineering
Lunch Break		11:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.			



Agenda

Keynote Address	Lithium Batteries: Future Trends and the Energy/Safety Trade-off	12:00 p.m. – 01:00 p.m.	Dr. Stanley Whittingham	Binghamton University State University of New York	Professor, Department of Chemistry 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Ш	Empirical and Modeling Studies: New Insights	01:00 p.m. – 01:25 p.m.	Dr. Venkat Viswanathan	Carnegie Mellon University	Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
		01:25 p.m. – 01:50 p.m.	Dr. Ankur Jain	The University of Texas at Arlington	Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
		01:50 p.m. – 02:15 p.m.	Yulong Liu and Dr. Jeff Dahn - Presented by Dr. Jeff Dahn, FRSC, O.C.	Dalhousie University	Professor of Physics and Atmospheric Science; NSERC/Tesla Canada Inc. Industrial Research Chair
		02:15 p.m. – 02:40 p.m.	Dr. Gleb Yushin	Georgia Tech	Professor, School of Materials Science and Engineering; Co-Founder, Sila Nanotechnologies, Inc.
		02:40 p.m. – 03:05 p.m.	Dr. Rana Mohtadi	Toyota Research Institute of North America	Principal Scientist, Materials Research for Energy Storage
IV	What's New in Standards and Regulations	03:05 p.m. – 03:25 p.m.	Mr. George A. Kerchner	PRBA - The Rechargeable Battery Association	Executive Director
		03:25 p.m. – 03:40 p.m.	Mr. Howard D. Hopper	UL	Global Regulatory Services Manager
		03:40 p.m. – 03:55 p.m.	Mr. Brian O'Connor P.E.	National Fire Protection Association	Technical Services Engineer
		03:55 p.m. – 04:10 p.m.	Mr. Manjunath Vittala Rao	Underwriters Laboratories Inc.	Standards & Programs Manager, South Asia & Sub-Saharan Africa
Closing	Concluding Remarks	04:10 p.m. – 04:20 p.m.	Dr. Christopher Cramer	Underwriters Laboratories Inc.	Senior Vice President and Chief Research Officer
	Closing Remarks and Acknowledgements	04:20 p.m.	Dr. Judy Jeevarajan	Underwriters Laboratories Inc.	Research Director - Electrochemical Safety



UNDERWRITERS LABORATORIES®

Thank you

Learn more about our electrochemical safety science research and initiatives at:

Web:https://ul.org/what-we-do/electrochemical-safetyEmail:NFP.ElectrochemicalSafety@ul.org

